Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Tagalog, Pilipino, Filipino...

In 1935, President Manuel Queson proclaimed Tagalog as the basis of the national language and was renamed "Pilipino" and was established as one of the two official languages of the Philippines under the 1973 Constitution--the other being English. Then, in 1987, "Pilipino" was again renamed "Filipino" characterized by an openness to borrowings from other languages in the Philippines including English and Spanish.

No comments:

Post a Comment